Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile House Rules

Advanced

From the Hand of God

Posted by Theresa7 
Recent Messages
From the Hand of God
March 23, 2011 12:42AM
Some of you may know a bit of my story, but here is a bit more... or at least a summary of some of the stuff I want to share about in my blog.

My parents were radically saved in the mid-70's, so I grew up in churches. But it was never church for church sake, it was about Jesus -- at least that was what we thought and intended. It was never just about tradition.

I not only did the church thing, but I fully intended to become a missionary. I studied Linguistics in College, so I could one day join Wycliffe Bible Translators, yada yada yada. I thought I would marry a pastor and live a life in service to God and his people. In my teens I was active in the leadership committee for the youth group, attended EVERYTHING, and even sang regularly for Church Special Music (it was a traditional church with one leader who 'directed' at the podium with the pianist accompanying, so there was no "team" to join there). In college I was a part of the leadership of InterVarsity and the International Student Christian Fellowship. After college, I became part of a Foursquare church and joined the worship team. I was up front every Sunday, 2 services, for years.
Even after I got married, we continued church and worship team involvement wherever we went. Until.... everything changed. Life has not been the same. This is the point at which things got interesting, and this is what I want to blog about.

Long story short (because I have one particular event that I'd like to share, but I want to give it a little context...), we have friends who -- about 4 years ago -- encountered a group of people (6-10 of them) calling themselves "The Body".